Devilskin rock out with new video, ‘Never See The Light’

Álvaro Martins

Álvaro Martins

Devilskin is a four-piece band from Hamilton, New Zealand formed in June 2010. The band features Jennie Skulander on vocals, and ‘Never See The Light’ is their newest single, a roller coaster of a song, the powerful driving bass riff at the beginning is a portent to the emotive dynamism the song has. It is truculent, compelling and gripping. The message and the intensity behind ‘Never See The Light’  are very dear to Devilskin’s hearts.

Following the empowerment and self-belief of the last single ‘Start A Revolution’, ‘Never See The Light’ is more an introspective reflection of loss and love. Jennie Skulander wrote the lyrics after their dear friend Shoki Kamishima – who played bass in a band they knew, took his own life. New Zealand immigration service would not acknowledge his talents as being crucial or viable to his continuing stay in New Zealand with his band. He got deported, and as a consequence sadly took his own life.

Devilskin wanted the video to have an interesting theme and lighthearted moments to honor the sort of person Shoki Kamishima was. Produced by the band, the video was filmed in a local nightclub, with supporters invited to be part of the audience, donning crazy and weird masks and costumes to outstanding effect.

Both ‘Never See The Light’ and  ‘Start A Revolution’ are taken from their debut studio album ‘We Rise.’ The album debuted at #1 in New Zealand and became the first album since 2010 by a domestic rock band to achieve Platinum status while the critics have lauded its United Kingdom release.

‘We Rise,’ has now been in the Top 20 New Zealand Albums chart for 93 weeks while the videos for ‘We Rise’ have amassed over more than 1.8 million views on YouTube.

The four piece Devilskin hail from Hamilton, New Zealand and comprise of the mesmerizing Jennie Skulander on vocals, the red-bearded evil twins Nail Martin and Paul Martin on guitars and Nic Martin on drums. Devilskin has already earned a formidable reputation by earnestly demonstrating the commitment to unpretentious musical values: writing songs that have depth and passion, and a relentless touring schedule.

In 2015, Devilskin has supported Mötley Crüe, Slash and Alice Cooper in New Zealand. Their tactical instrumental attack is balanced by the charming Jennie Skulander and her unbelievable voice that sweeps from whisper to roar, rips with power, drips with melody and captivates with sincerity.

Devilskin’s irresistible ‘We Rise’ is at times visceral, urgent and magniloquent but is also tempered with tenderness, empathy, love and bare souls. The songs are very authentic and brutally honest, just like any of their live shows.

Devilskin - We Rise
Devilskin – We Rise
  1. Elvis Presley Circle Pit
  2. Little Pills
  3. Chainsaw
  4. Vessel
  5. Start a Revolution
  6. Never See the Light
  7. Until You Bleed
  8. Fade
  9. Surrender
  10. Burning Tree
  11. The Horror
  12. Violation
  13. Covet
  14. Cherophobia (The Failure In Me)
  15. Dirt

Musically twisted and possessed ‘We Rise’ combines gorgeous melodies of heavy, bombastic riffs, with streamlined hard rock anthems aimed squarely at the arena circuit, no one else does it better right now. Devilskin is currently mixing their new album and plan to return to the United Kingdom and Europe later this year.

Vader reveals details about its new album, ‘Tibi Et Igni’

Mesopotamian Melechesh to unveil ‘Enki’ opus this Winter

Rob Zombie finished mixing on the sixth album

At The Gates

At The Gates unveils ‘At War With Reality’ album concept

Notify of
Inline Discussions
View all discussions



& Updated

Share to...